Posted on

Losing Your Memory

I was listening to a song a while back and it struck a chord in me somewhere. Made me really think about it so I thought why not blog about it?

Now the song I’m talking about is Losing Your Memory – Ryan Star. Pretty epic if I tell you. Check it out. So anyways, moving on. What it made me think of was, what if I could lose parts of my memory or well, certain things that happened that I particularly didn’t like or meeting someone. You can always forget someone. Make them vanish off your head, make their memories vanish if you want a clean start or maybe modify some things in your head to make them look better for you.

Now I know that’s not possibly obviously and you have to live with the decisions you’ve made, the silly stupid things you’ve done and the pain that comes with making mistakes or just being on the end of a mistake. If only Vampires were around and they could stare into your eyes and just make you forget what you wanted. Poof. Just like that.

If someone gave me the option to do that? I probably would erase and forget a few things. Mostly embarassing moments that keep popping up in your head every now and then. Moments where you made a fool out of yourself, you think about them and go “Wow, I was a complete fool back then”. As for people, I’d never really want to forget someone, be it someone who’s been really special to me or someone who I really haven’t talked to much for whatever reason. Sure some people hurt you, leave scars that last a life time but they make you a better person and make you stronger, one way or the other. They make you what you are at the end of the day and so it’s important to remember those moments for good or for worse. Sure it would be an easier option for people in pain or who can’t get over a break up that easy, but I’d never want to forget someone or people. Sure not think about them as much but never truly forget someone. Like they say, good things come to those who wait. You don’t ever know what’s gonna show up at your doorstep.

So what would you do? Would you like to ever forget someone or something from your life? Some moments? Some memories? Post below in the comments section.

Till then, check out the song!!!

About Nickerson

Nineteen. Unpredictable , yet someone who you can bank on. I can be really eccentric at times and other times , a calming influence. Always smiling and I believe in living life , not moaning about what should or shouldnt've happened. Crazy , yet subtle. All In all , someone you'd wanna know probably? Take a shot :D

8 responses to “Losing Your Memory

  1. Wackadoodle! ⋅

    absolutely agree! people who hurt you either break you or make you stronger. 😀

  2. For me its people and shameful mistakes– I would erase a hand full of memories of people and shame with absolute zero regret. Sometimes I think we could have been better humans without so much of the stains and remnants of crap that stays hidden within.

  3. Either this is really awkward, or it’s a lovely coincidence that this is the latest post you wrote. I love you so much and I miss you SO much. I want you to know that you’re always one of the coolest people I’ve ever met and I TOTALLY haven’t forgotten about you chico. (I’m about to go comment-raid your blog, so watch out homeskillet.)

    But on this SUBJEECCTTT… I think it is important to let people go, while still not forgetting the lessons they taught you, regarding people who did you wrong. It’s no use obsessing over an ex, but it is important to remember the things you learned about yourself, and about relationships and all that yadda. And with people you like, but just lost touch with, it’s important to not forget them, and to not assume that something is wrong with you or them, there’s just a little space in your relationship: and that’s okay. You can still totally respect a person, even if you don’t talk to them constantly, and it’s nice to have people far and away that you know are genuinely good and that you can count on if it comes to it.

    But yeah I loved this post. 😀 I love you! I love your writing!

    (I’m going to go now before I exceed the non-existent comment limit. GOODBYE! <3)

  4. Sanah

    Hmm, this had me thinking. Well if given a chance I’d like to erase some mistakes from my memory but not any person. Even the shittiest of people have taught me something really profound . I’d like to know what YOU would do? 🙂

  5. diditevercrossyourmind ⋅

    A much needed read 😀 your right you know, theres no point in forgetting someone no matter what your experience has been, at the end of the day, the time spent then, the things learnt, are merely an add on to a new and improved character.

Leave a Reply

