Posted on

The Superstition Hypothesis

Superstitions are something that prevail all around us and even though they’re stupid, people still tend to believe in a lot of them. I apologize if you’re a believer but It’s just my opinion. I think a lot of them make no sense and I have no idea how they sprung up to be, but they’ve surely spread around. It’s obviously different for different countries, however certain superstitions prevail worldwide. Now call it ignorance or fear, but they are a part of our lives somehow and someone you know must follow them, or be superstitious. Come on, we all know that relative or relatives who are 😀

Now I for one, don’t believe in them. You’d see a lot of people who go touchwood after they get a reprieve or something lucky happens to them. Now I’ve never quite got the logic behind that. Neither do I do touch-wood or say it. Similiarly, seeing a black cat cross the road? bad omen. Why? Nobody knows.

The most common ones you come across are mirrors breaking or pictures of a loved one falling down and breaking? Bad Omen. Now we often make out things to be far worse than they really are. So a picture falls down, how does that mean it’s something bad for the person in the picture? He’s fine, lying in his bed and all of a sudden he’ll just roll over and fall on the floor? Because a picture of him broke? No, not happening. See, things like that are stupid. Another one that’s prevalent here is the positioning of the house and the features attached to it. They say you shouldn’t have a Mirror facing your bed that is directly in front of it (Who are you going to see? Bloody Mary??) and plus the house entrance and certain features should face a certain direction. Apparently, facing East is the best because the Sun rises from there and it’s a bright start to your day. Stupid logic, stupid superstition.

Some People Can Have Lucky Spots Too

I recall one where when I was growing up, If you walk over a kid lying on the floor, it’s supposed to be a bad thing and it like, stunts the child’s growth. So you have to like reverse the procedure and walk over the kid again to remove the curse or whatever? Funny right?

Now when people follow superstitions, I ask them why they do it, but most of the answers never quite satisfy me. Some of them just do it because it’s passed on and they’re made to think it’s a bad thing.

I to an extent CAN be superstitious but not crazy Superstitious. Generally with guys, it’s about a lucky spot or a lucky charm. I wouldn’t say it’s completely superstitious because you just want to feel like it’s lucky for you. Almost like a lucky number. It’s not really a charm and it certainly doesn’t control what happens, but you just want to believe it. I’ve had it happen a few times with me. While playing cards or poker, I’ve won a lot on certain seats. Then after a complete round? You take out cards to decide which order to sit in again which often means a new seat. Now you may start thinking “Man! I was winning so much on that seat and this seat’s just no good. ” Again a mental thing. I’ve sat in a certain chair and had my favourite team score goals. I’ve gone away maybe to get a snack and seen us concede. Now I know they don’t score or defend according to me and what I do but you still want to believe in things like that sometimes 😛  “I was away, that’s why they conceded. I was making them play so well” -.-

My Super Lucky Spurs Flag.

But yes, in general. They’re pretty funny and laughable. Others that I know of are, if your right palm itches, Guests might be coming. If your left palm itches, That means you’re gonna make money. An Eye twitching is bad. I’m sure there’s something associated with both sets of eyes twitching individually but can’t quite remember it. I know people who put these mask kind of things outside their house to ward of evil eyes.

Have a nice, non superstitious day 😛  *Touches wood*

About Nickerson

Nineteen. Unpredictable , yet someone who you can bank on. I can be really eccentric at times and other times , a calming influence. Always smiling and I believe in living life , not moaning about what should or shouldnt've happened. Crazy , yet subtle. All In all , someone you'd wanna know probably? Take a shot :D

7 responses to “The Superstition Hypothesis

  1. I once wiped out on my bike really badly after a black cat crossed my path. But then again, that might just be because I swerved to avoid the cat 🙂

  2. yup, yup yup, you hit it on the head…it’s a mental thing. Our brains & a number of outside influences can convince us of anything…if we allow it. Great blog!

  3. Sanah

    Kudos to you Nickerson for penning down such vibrant and honest thoughts. I constantly “touch-wood” because it gives me mental satisfaction. 🙂

Leave a Reply

