Posted on

Lie To Me

My day started off pretty badly today. Woke up super late and had to eventually get ready in like 10 minutes and be off. Blame my phone. Or maybe me (for snoozing my alarms) or probably this epic dream I was having , just before I woke up. I swear , I had some amazing sleep. Sadly? I missed my alarms and I might’ve snoozed a couple. Fast Forward? I was a bit late. Not much , since I can get ready pretty darn fast.

Not a breakfast person but My dad insists. So I took this slice of bread , put some peanut butter and I was off (It wasn’t too bad). Reached my class about 15 minutes late but it was chill. The teacher/professer’s actually really cool and we get along. I just walked over calmly and said I had to stop over and buy the book he’d told me to get the other day. It was sort of an additional help. Fact is? I never really stopped for the book. I just found it convenient enough and I lied. Finally sat down and thought about it. I just lied , without really being too conscious about it. My amazing little brain just popped up with an excuse to save my ass! Geez! How many times have I done this? Lied without knowing? Or being conscious of the fact?

Reminded me of Dolores Umbridge..

Now we’re all brought up well. Brought up with certain prescribed rules in life. Certain etiquettes and I guess being truthful was always something your mother taught you. Behave , be on time and don’t lie. Manners that I guess make an integral part of the person you are. Now I’m not saying being late makes you any worse or takes away something from the man you are. Same with lying. However what I realised was , that we all lie on a day to day basis and it’s often too petty to even notice. We’ve grown accustomed to scenarios where we just HAVE to come up with a lie , an excuse. Or just lie to make someone feel better. Lie to not sound rude.

There I sat in class , thinking about it and I thought why not analyze my day and see how many lies I come up with at the end of it (subconsciously ofcourse)
I don’t remember any at all , barring a call I skipped in the evening from a friend. Just wasn’t in the mood to talk and I’d just woken up. Thought It’d be convenient to just tell him I was sleeping and that’s what I did. Texted him just before dinner and he said it was alright. Again , I really didn’t pay much attention to the fact that I lied. Looking back NOW? Yes. I can pay attention but in general? we really don’t tend to notice it. Or let’s put it this way , feel guilty.

I know it’s a bad habit. People will argue , it doesn’t get you quite far in the real world. Others ? quite the opposite. It’s a hard world and you just have to lie sometimes to get off the hook. To get a second chance. It’s the only hope sometimes.

As heroic as it may sound? The truth hurts. It’s bitter and it can’t be sugar coated. Some people want it. Most? can’t really face it or don’t like it. We just don’t want to face it. We’d rather have the sugar-coated side that can be easily digested. Now let’s say you have your project due and you didn’t really make it in time. Do you be blunt and say you didn’t finish it. Or do you make an excuse. Say something like “I made it. But I forgot to bring it. I’ll hand it over by the evening or tomorrow” ?

Now most lies are harmless. They cause ripples here and there , but don’t have any everlasting damage. As long as it’s a casual one? I think I’m good with it. Then again , it shouldn’t be too impulsive. A lie is your first priority most of the time. No , it shouldn’t because people who you think can face it? have the right to know the truth. It’s a tough predicament though.

I KNOW people who are lying to me. Lying about emotions. About how they’re feeling right then and how they pretend to be happy and just won’t admit the fact. Admit they miss something. Someone. There’s always a part of you that wants the truth. The curious , inquisitive side but there’s a scared , timid part in your brain that goes “What if it’s something bad? something that destroys everything” ? All in all , I think lying to someone’s become a part of our lives. Be it intentional or unintentional. It’s there alright.

So how many times have you lied over the past week? šŸ˜€

On a completely unrelated note? I thought of this song from the title. Thought I’d share. (you should totally read this post with this song playing. I actually tried it myself)

About Nickerson

Nineteen. Unpredictable , yet someone who you can bank on. I can be really eccentric at times and other times , a calming influence. Always smiling and I believe in living life , not moaning about what should or shouldnt've happened. Crazy , yet subtle. All In all , someone you'd wanna know probably? Take a shot :D

5 responses to “Lie To Me

  1. Great post!
    I lied about throwing a party while my dad was away last week. I don’t know, is that a little white lie, or a big one?

  2. wackadoodle! ⋅

    supp! I nominated youu for the super sweet blog award! check it out!!! —>http://stupidlyawesome.wordpress.com/2012/09/26/super-sweet-blog-award/
    have funsss answering the Q’s!

Leave a Reply

