Posted on

Miracles? Destiny? Or Coincidences?

Now I’ll ask this question to myself , what do I believe in out of all these three? I’ll be honest and I guess a bit of all them. However the former two weigh a little more heavily on me than the latter.

I’m an eternal optimist and I believe in signs. I know it could be a coincidence that I stumble across an old friend at a bookstore , a restaurant. But there’s the optimistic side , the dreamer in me which thinks maybe it was meant to be. You’re lazy , you barely call people. Maybe that’s how it should have been. You getting to talk to an old friend this ways and catching up on it. I guess it probably all depends on the person and his/her psyche. I for one though believe in Miracles happening. What? or how they occur? is an entirely different scenario. Or maybe it’s just meant to be and it was supposed to be happen – Destiny.

Yes , they do!

Let me quote a few lines from a certain movie that I love that always make me think real hard. Which are :

People break down into two groups. When they experience something lucky, group number one sees it as more than luck, more than coincidence. They see it as a sign, evidence, that there is someone up there, watching out for them. Group number two sees it as just pure luck. Just a happy turn of chance. I’m sure the people in group number two are looking at those fourteen lights in a very suspicious way. For them, the situation is a fifty-fifty. Could be bad, could be good. But deep down, they feel that whatever happens, they’re on their own. And that fills them with fear. Yeah, there are those people. But there’s a whole lot of people in group number one. When they see those fourteen lights, they’re looking at a miracle. And deep down, they feel that whatever’s going to happen, there will be someone there to help them. And that fills them with hope. See what you have to ask yourself is what kind of person are you? Are you the kind that sees signs, that sees miracles? Or do you believe that people just get lucky? Or, look at the question this way: Is it possible that there are no coincidences?

Let’s put it this way. You haven’t talked to a close friend or maybe someone you like and all of a sudden , their favourite song comes on radio and instantly reminds you of him/her. Was that a coincidence? or was it a miracle? Could be either of them , but our brain functions differently and we try to percieve and see what we WANT to percieve. See signs sometimes when there really aren’t any.

I love how Coincidence Photography is a thing!

However other times , there are things you just can’t ignore. Things that constantly remind you of someone or something and that feeling of it being a miracle really lingers on. Is it a miracle that you and your special someone are thinking of each other at the same time? eg. “OMG..I was JUST thinking of you. I was gonna text you and your text pops up” . Or it could be just a coincidence (yeah yeah , they both were free and I guess texted each other at the same time. Big deal)

Again It’s relative and it’ll be different for everyone. I feel there’s something out there though that is in a way meant to be. However , you CAN influence it. Times when I’ve just blindly prayed for maybe my team to score a last minute goal and win the game. You know the chances are bleak , you pray and pray and it happens!! now what would that be? I guess it could be a miracle , or it could be just pure talent. Or a coincidence. The other team went sloppy , didn’t defend well and we got through. Again 3 options and I would go with the miracle bit here. 😛

I recall meeting this person (who’s now extremely special to me) and we kind of bumped into each other in a way. Didn’t have the best of starts and she hated me from what I know now. Thought I wasn’t to be trusted and had an air of suspicion about me. I on the other hand thought she was kinda cute and that she found me to be a decent guy 😀 We’d bump into each other everyday , end up talking everyday and slowly , it was something special. Then when she wasn’t around? I’d see things that would connect and relate to her pop up everywhere. Her favourite song , her City mentioned on tv. Probably a store she likes (Mango , Forever 21) 😀 and just anything that could remind me of her. Now I’d think , was it a coincidence this song popped up today? or it was just meant to be and I was SUPPOSED to think about her?

Believe.

To sum it up? I’d fall in the group that believes in miracles and signs. Yes , I know there are coincidences but for me , there’s always something good planned. What about you?  😀

 

 

 

About Nickerson

Nineteen. Unpredictable , yet someone who you can bank on. I can be really eccentric at times and other times , a calming influence. Always smiling and I believe in living life , not moaning about what should or shouldnt've happened. Crazy , yet subtle. All In all , someone you'd wanna know probably? Take a shot :D

6 responses to “Miracles? Destiny? Or Coincidences?

  1. sladow

    I love that movie! I’m so glad I found someone else who likes it!

  2. wackadoodle! ⋅

    …but I’m holding youuu closeerr thaaaan moost coz you are myyyy heeaavenn 😛

  3. catherinewdy ⋅

    thanks… this helps… i was at the brim of giving up.. i thought i couldn’t believe anymore.. maybe i’ll just try building up everything all over again.. thanks.. 😉

    • Nickerson ⋅

      Pleasure 😀 Remember, there’s always something positive out there. Even if there isn’t? there’s no harm in believing. Things always get better and no pain stays for too long. Best of luck 😉

Leave a Reply

