Posted on

What Keeps You Ticking??

Another long , long day which is finally seeming to end even though the sleep I’m gonna get won’t be much. Reason? I have to study. Got my exams in about 1 and a half months and sure , to a normal person , it may seem a REALLY long time In all honesty. In school? I’d probably start studying for a test or exam on the last day. Infact , I’dĀ  ONLY study on the last day. Couldn’t really get much inside my head until I obviously had that threat of an exam the next day looming over my head which got me into ninja mode and often made me learn pretty well. Sadly? these exams are different. A level higher than regular university exams which makes it just tougher. The books are really thick and for each subject , I have to refer to about 3 other books (damn , they are thick as well). Got a lot of chapters and keeping up on all the subjects gets really hard. Focus on one too much and you get screwed in the others cause you start lagging behind.

Anyways , enough of my rant. I bet we all have something or the other that just makes your day seem really long or extremely short especially when you have to submit a project/report. Then? time just decides to fly by. Love the double standards time , just love it. Been a hectic day and I’m taking a break from Taxation (computing income tax) and it’s interesting in parts , but gruelling in totality. Got another chapter to do and add to that , two more days to go (yes , I have Saturday too. Amazing , isn’t it? ) . So things look pretty bleak , but then again , there’s always a dual side to every thing we do. The only downside to it is? We seldom see it. Either we can just moan about how hectic our day is , how we don’t have time , how we haven’t had the time to hang out with our friends , our boss just doesnt relent , our workload doesn’t reduce and ofcourse , some odd calamity keeps striking us by occasionally , toying with us and enjoying itself. We can complain OR look on the brightside and look for things that just , make life better and make you smile and keep driving you on.

I have a few things that can always cheer me up , no matter what is going around me. Starting off? Music. No , I’m not a crazy metal/hard rock kind of guy and I prefer it subtle. Grew up with pop and I’ve just followed that ever since. Usually there are certain songs that can just lift you up , make you smile or certain songs which aren’t overly motivational , but still cheer you up , probably cause you like the lyrics or it’s catchy. šŸ˜›

I try making short goals for myself , to look foward to and give myself a little target to go for. Probably a show I’d wanna watch that day? so you build up in a way that leads upto the show. You can work on something knowing in a few hours , you’ll be watching your favourite show and you’ll be good. Similiarly , it could be a sport or a date or a hangout with an old friend. I try planning for the weekend ahead and it keeps me ticking knowing I’ll be having a blast. Even if I DON’T have any plans? There’s always football or Formula 1 too look forward to (Pretty tempting for a guy , I must tell you).

Football Sure works for me !!

Even if you don’t have something planned? the countdown to the weekend in your head should be enough to drive you on. Knowing in a couple of days , Saturday will be upon us and you can relax , you can sleep or you can go on your very own movie marathon šŸ˜€ Call a friend maybe and catch up on old times?

All in all? we all needs certain “happy” targets that tip the balance mentally in your head and take it from being a bad day to a decent day. Remember , it’s all in the head and how you look at it šŸ˜‰

P.S : Just Friday left and you’re gonna be freeeee so cheer up (this is for a special reader as well. Smile please? šŸ˜€ )

About Nickerson

Nineteen. Unpredictable , yet someone who you can bank on. I can be really eccentric at times and other times , a calming influence. Always smiling and I believe in living life , not moaning about what should or shouldnt've happened. Crazy , yet subtle. All In all , someone you'd wanna know probably? Take a shot :D

2 responses to “What Keeps You Ticking??

  1. sladow

    Good luck with the exam! Studying for my prelims (ph.d.) was awful–I feel your pain. And I agree, there must be one smile in any day, but sometimes you have to look for it. šŸ™‚

    • Nickerson

      Thanks a lottt. Woaah , Ph.d? I know how tough that is so best of luck for your future course ahead šŸ˜€ we really need something happy , especially when at times it gets so hectic

Leave a Reply

